The International Sprintcar stars are set to come out and play this Wednesday night at Geelong’s Avalon Raceway as they tackle Australia’s best in the 30th running of the $5,000 to win President’s Cup. The six quality imports are led by reigning World of Outlaws champion Jason Meyers who will join countryman and former President’s Cup winner Joey Saldana as they compete against Australia’s best including three time and defending event winner Brooke Tatnell.

Tatnell along with former winners and perennial Avalon Raceway favourites David Murcott and Robbie Farr are among a 43 strong list of nominations for Wednesday nights Essendon Ford backed event. Murcott in particular was in stunning form during the recent World Series Sprintcars event held at the venue where he was victorious ahead of Tatnell. Former Australian champion Kerry Madsen has also nominated along with Eureka Sprintcar Series point leader Stephen Bell.

Essendon Ford Sprintcar Premiership contenders Mike Van Bremen and Darren Mollenoyux have both been victorious at the venue this summer and are among quality field. Easter Sprintcar Trail winner and World Series Sprintcars standout Danny Reidy will also make a popular return to Avalon. With fine weather expected mid week the management at Avalon Raceway are confident of bouncing back from a recent run of washouts.

“This is a strong field of contestants make no mistake about that,” said Avalon commentator Brian Alexander.

“Tatnell has won the last three President’s Cups in succession and again will figure prominently but with the quality of the American imports and the strong Australian nominations this Wednesday’s race is anyone’s to win.”

“To have someone as credentialled as Jason Meyers in the field is great for Geelong Sprintcar fans. In addition to winning the Outlaws championship Meyers was voted the ‘Driver of the Year’ by the North American 410Ci Sprintcar Poll voting panel of media members, promoters, sanctioning officials and manufacturers.”

“The addition of Meyers is a huge coup for the venue and Steven Caunt provides excellent equipment and I know they will leave no stone unturned in an attempt to win on Wednesday night.”

Meyers became the first Californian to win the grueling 70 plus round World of Outlaws championship this year and follows his pair of runner up championship finishes in 2008 and 2009. Winning twelve A-mains and recording 36 top 5 finishes, the 31 year old hails from Clovis, California and will make his Australian tour debut this Wednesday night at Avalon Raceway. Racing for car owner Steve Caunt, Meyers will have the additional support of regular Outlaw crew member and Ballarat native Glen Beaton.

The only driver with more Outlaw wins than Meyers in 2010 was Indiana ace and 1996 President’s Cup winner Joey Saldana who was victorious on 13 occasions. Finishing fourth in Outlaw point standings, Saldana makes a welcome return to Avalon Raceway as part of a two car outfit teaming with 21 year old sensation Cody Darrah. The pair race for NASCAR star Kasey Kahne and the team have freighted their own Sprintcars for their Australian assault.

World of Outlaw regular Lucas Wolfe also returns to Avalon Raceway while Josh Fisher and defending Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic winner Shane Stewart is also among the fast American contingent.

The President’s Cup at Avalon Raceway will be held on Wednesday night, January 19th with gates opening at 4:30pm. On track action will begin at 6pm with engine starts and time trials for the Sprintcars.

Adults $25
Concession $20
Child 12-16 $10
Child 5-11 $5
Child Under 5 Free


For more info contact Jeff Drew 0418 160 985 / Gavin White email