Geelong’s Avalon Raceway is primed to welcome Hi-Tec Oils World Series Sprintcars on Friday night as the fourth round of Speedweek makes it’s way to the Geelong venue. The contracted WSS stars haven’t had things all their own way this season thus far with popular 2010 national champion James McFadden pocketing three of the four rounds contested including Monday night’s opening Speedweek round in Adelaide.

Avalon track specialist and contracted star David Murcott will be attempting to halt McFadden’s stunning results on Friday night when the touring series stops for one night only in Geelong. Reigning World Series champion Robbie Farr heads the quality field while November Sprintcar feature winner at Avalon, Steven Lines will also return to the venue.

Touring American star Jason Johnson relishes the Speedweek component of World Series and the Louisiana native will once again look for a strong showing at Avalon. Perennial favourite and seven times WSS champion Max Dumesny along with Australian Sprintcar champion and eight times series winner Brooke Tatnell will also be among the exciting driver lineup.

“Friday night will be a quality field for World Series and I know that the addition of the giant screen and the boost in prizemoney this week brings that strong field,” explained Avalon’s Jeff Drew.

Friday night’s event will pay $10,000 to the winner while the fans will be entertained all night with the huge giant screen that will literally take the fans into the drivers world with up close interviews and highlights.

Also contracted to WSS this summer is South Australian Trevor Green, Tasmanian Shaun Dobson driving for Titan Racing, Ricky Maiolo in the TRG entry, Avalon regular Grant Anderson, South Australian Dylan Jenkin and the popular Northern Territorian Danny Reidy.

Add to the mix local stars such as last start feature winner Jamie Veal, Darren Mollenoyux, track championship leader Tim Rankin, John Vogels, Brett Milburn, Stephen Bell, Nick Lacey and Domain Ramsay and the entries swell to almost 40 Sprintcars.

“We also want to remind fans that Avalon is also running on Saturday night for the Oval Express Formula 500 Series and in much the same way World Series attracts the high level of competition so too does the Oval Express Series,” said Drew.

The New Years Eve event has attracted two American drivers, Californian Jake Hagopian and Colorado’s Austin Farley will tackle the best Formula 500 racers in Australia including Australian champion Liam Williams, former series winners Matt Brown and Ben McLeod along with Queensland, NSW and Victorian Formula 500 titleholder Charlie Brown. The 40 plus field for Saturday night is littered with past state and national champions ensuring the night will be ultra competitive.

Friday night will also be the third round of the Essendon Ford Sprintcar Track Championship.


WHEN; Friday Dec 30
WHAT; Hi-Tec Oils World Series Sprintcars

WHEN; Saturday Dec 31
WHAT; Oval Express Formula 500 Series / Wingless Sprints Avanats


For more info contact Jeff Drew 0418 160 985 / Gavin White email