This Friday and Saturday night Geelong’s Avalon Raceway will host the prestigious 2012 Australian V8 Dirt Modified Championship with a stunning field set to converge on the venue led by three time and defending champion, Queensland’s Peter Britten. The popular national champion will attempt to become the first driver in history to win four consecutive Australian Titles in the division.

Drivers from as far as Western Australia and Queensland will make the long haul to the Geelong venue for the two night championship decider with the focus clearly on Saturday night’s 35 lap championship final. Each driver will contest four heat races across the weekend while a unique twin feature event will highlight Friday’s preliminary event.

“We are thrilled to have the Australian V8 Dirt Modified Championship coming to Avalon Raceway this Friday and Saturday night as there is a stunning field coming from right across the country,” enthused Avalon Raceway’s Jeff Drew.

Close to 40 cars have nominated for this weekend’s two night event however the popular belief is that if you can finish ahead of three time champion Britten then you have the best chance to taking out the title.

“Peter Britten is in some great form and is coming off a victory last weekend in the Victorian Title where he defeated many of the drivers he will face this weekend. Britten has competed in the US over the last few seasons and it shows that he has really benefited from the overseas experience,” said Drew.

“There is an element of luck involved and you can never tell how an event might pan out, that’s why we race for the title!”

Britten’s winning streak extends beyond last weekend’s Victorian title victory as he was also on the top step of the podium at Brisbane on New Year’s Day while he also won a mid week show between Christmas and New Year at Lismore Speedway in New South Wales.

Fellow Queenslander David Clark finished third in last years national title and will be keen to tackle Britten this weekend. Clark also defeated Britten earlier this season in what has to be a confidence boosting result.

The field will also include four previous Australian Title winners including Britten who is also the current Queensland and Victorian champion Mark Robinson, Scott Cannon and New South Wales titleholder Andrew Pezzutti.

Two other drivers have won three consecutive V8 Dirt Modified national crowns including Victorian Tim Morse while Stuart Herne also won three consecutive title while both drivers accumulated five titles each in their careers. Incidentally Morse was involved in the most recent title to be run at Avalon in 2004 when he advanced from the B-main to win the final in dramatic style.

Also joining the fray will be West Australian State champ Bryn Lake while Jai Stephenson and local hopes Steve Milthorpe, Dave May, Darryl Hickson and veteran Lloyd Hobson will be among the contenders.

Both night’s will see a strong field of Modified Production Sedan’s support the action with Saturday’s much anticipated West Coast Classic the season highlight at the venue for the class.

Public gates will open at 4pm both nights’s with racing set to begin at the usual 7pm start time.


For more info contact Jeff Drew 0418 160 985 / Gavin White email