Geelong’s Avalon Raceway is ready to welcome several of the world’s fastest Sprintcar drivers to the venue next Wednesday night, January 18th for the highly anticipated 31st edition of the Essendon Ford President’s Cup. Entries have swelled past the 40-car mark and with a $10,000 cheque awaiting the first driver home, understandably interest is at an all time high.

November’s announcement of increased prizemoney across the entire night sent a positive wave through the racing community and as a result the fans are guaranteed to see some of the sports most exciting drivers in action. This Wednesday’s event will produce a worthy winner with arguably the strongest field assembling in the history of the event with yet more entries expected before the meeting gets underway.

“Sprintcars are always popular at Avalon and when you see the list of entrants that are set to appear from both here and from the US you can see why this event will be one not to be missed,” boasts Avalon’s Jeff Drew.

To this point there are eight US drivers entered along with three time President’s Cup winner and current Australian Sprintcar Champion Brooke Tatnell. Defending event winner Stephen Bell has also registered his intentions for back to back wins while other drawcards include David Murcott and Robbie Farr who are also former winners of the event.

Former national champion Kerry Madsen will also compete along with Grant Anderson, Ryan Farrell, Trevor Green, John Vogels, Brett Milburn and Darren Mollenoyux.

Also competing will be arguably the hottest driver on the Australian circuit currently is 21-year-old Alice Springs born ace James McFadden. During December’s World Series Speedweek round held at Avalon the talented 2010 national champion defeated Tatnell in a brilliant performance that also now sees McFadden leading the Essendon Ford Sprintcar Track Championship by 5 points from Stephen Bell.

“James is in great form as his results have shown with six World Series round wins to his credit in what has been a dream run so far. Leading the track championship is also a great result and Wednesday’s event will really shape the track championship top 10,” said Drew.

Much in the same mould as McFadden, Californian teenager Kyle Larson has enjoyed a dream past 12 months and the naturally gifted racer will race a second car for local ace Brett Milburn on Wednesday night.

Even as recent as this week Larson has won his preliminary night feature at the renowned Chili Bowl, an indoor Midget (Speedcar) event held in Tulsa featuring the world’s best drivers from both dirt and pavement. Larson won over 20 features in 2011 at the highest level across six different classes ensuring this livewire is not coming to Australia just to make up the numbers.

Also in 2011 Larson was the Eldora Speedway 4 Crown Champion where he won in all three USAC divisions on the one night. Larson became only the second man to ever accomplish the feat behind Jack Hewitt when he won the Midget, wingless Sprintcar and Silver Crown features despite having never raced at Eldora before!

Larson was also successful against the World of Outlaws in the annual Gold Cup Race of Champions becoming the youngest ever to do so while he also won the Belleville Midget Nationals and the Ultimate Challenge wingless Sprintcar event at Oskaloosa.

Joining Larson will be compatriot and 2006 President’s Cup winner Paul McMahan while other World of Outlaw regulars include Lucas Wolfe and Craig Dollansky. Daryn Pittman returns to Australia to compete on Wednesday night as does six times Classic winner Danny Smith. Knoxville regular David Gravel and Ohio based Caleb Griffith will make their Australian debuts at Avalon’s President’s Cup.

Public gates will open at 3pm on Wednesday, January 18th while racing will get underway at the earlier time of 6:30pm.

Adults $30
Concession $20
Child 12-16 $10
Child 5-11 $5
Child Under 5 Free


For more info contact Jeff Drew 0418 160 985 / Gavin White email