Tonight will see the conclusion of the 2012 Australian V8 Dirt Modified Championship at Geelong’s Avalon Raceway following last night’s heats and Sprint features were run before an appreciative crowd. Sprint feature winners included New South Wales ‘gun’ and former champion Mark Robinson while three time and defending champion Peter Britten was successful in the second Sprint feature.

Several exciting heat race performances highlighted the night with the usual hard luck stories including Andrew Pezzutti who failed to complete the night with mechanical woes. Jai Stephenson and Scott Cannon also suffered DNF’s courtesy of heat race incident’s that forced them to the infield.

Locals Troy Scott and Tony Moule unfortunately finished upside down courtesy of separate incidents.

Heat race winners included Matt Ferry, Steve Milthorpe, Dave May, Jai Stephenson, Mick Kiraly and Peter Britten while Robinson secured a pair of runner up finishes.

Competition resumes tomorrow night with two more rounds of heats followed by the last-chance B-Main and the 35-lap Australian Championship main event.

The support action will be provided by the West Coast Classic for Modified Production Sedans following an excellent feature for the class last night that saw local hero Justin Drew outrun the popular Graham West in his Torana.

2012 Australian V8 Dirt Modified Championship Points

Mark Robinson – 110
Peter Britten – 103
Dave May- 101
Matt Ferry – 101
Steve Milthorpe – 79
Ray Klarich – 73
Mick Kiraly – 70
Trevor Perry – 60
Jai Stephenson – 56
Mick Sauer – 51

Public gates will open at 4pm tonight with racing set to begin at the usual 7pm start time. Pre event parade will begin just after 6pm.


For more info contact Jeff Drew 0418 160 985 / Gavin White email