Tonight Geelong’s Avalon Raceway kick starts Classic week with the 31st running of the Essendon Ford President’s Cup with a staggering 50 Sprintcars nominated! The $10,000 to win event has attracted a large field with some of the world’s finest Sprintcars stars converging on Avalon Raceway.

Two time and defending World of Outlaw champion Jason Meyer’s has registered his intentions to contest the event tonight while Victorian star Jamie Veal along with West Australian speedster Carl Dowling all adding their names to the mix.

Tonight’s format will see all cars complete a two lap time trial with the top 30 qualifiers advancing directly into the three heat races with the fastest qualifier from position 10 in heat 1 with second quick from position 10 in heat 2 etc. The second round of heats will be inverted with the fastest qualifiers starting from the front.

Positions 31 back in qualifying will complete the Last Chance Qualifier where the top 6 finishers will tack onto the sixth row of the heat races.

Following the two rounds of heat races the points will be totaled with the top 14 cars on points locking themselves into the 25 lap President’s Cup feature. The top 4 finishers in the B-main will fill the back two rows of the feature race.


1. James McFadden 320
2. Stephen Bell 315
3. Tim Rankin 295
4. Jamie Veal 255
5. Darren Mollenoyux 250
6. Steven Lines 230
7. John Vogels 195
8. Brett Milburn 180
9. Ryan Farrell 175
10. Brooke Tatnell 160

Public gates will open at 3pm on Wednesday, January 18th while racing will get underway at the earlier time of 6:30pm.

Adults $30
Concession $20
Child 12-16 $10
Child 5-11 $5
Child Under 5 Free


For more info contact Jeff Drew 0418 160 985 / Gavin White email