Robbie Farr was a popular winner of the 31st Essendon Ford Sprintcar President’s Cup last night at Geelong’s Avalon Raceway when he led home a determined David Murcott with US import Jason Meyers rounding out the podium. It was Farr’s second victory in the President’s Cup following his 2007 success while this victory carried a cool $10,000 winners cheque that Farr gladly accepted!

Farr jumped to the lead from the drop of the green flag with Murcott in hot pursuit while the stellar field the chased the leading pair featured a number of the sports highest profile drivers. Withstanding several challenges from Murcott mid race, Farr managed to negate each attempt from Murcott and eventually lead every lap of the non-stop 25 lap final.

Essendon Ford’s David Dickson was on hand to present Farr the $10,000 winners cheque while constant setup improvements following the heats aided Farr’s brilliant speed in the final.

Starting on the front row with Farr, Murcott managed to reel in the leader mid race while coming up short in his attempt to win, the hard charging track specialist still outrun a world class field that trailed behind him. Murcott’s impressive form also netted him second quick in time trials earlier in the evening.

Starting from sixth on the grid, two time and current World of Outlaw champion Jason Meyers methodically edged his way to the front as he drove by the likes of US tourist Danny Smith, December’s World Series round winner James McFadden and also local hero John Vogels. Meyers simply ran out of laps before he could close on the impressive leading pair.

Despite a last lap spin, James McFadden still managed a fourth place finish using the highline to very good effect. The young star was a popular heat race winner earlier in the night while he now holds a massive 150 point lead in the Essendon Ford Sprintcar track championship.

Fifth home was ninth starting Kerry Madsen who motored through the field late in the race. Madsen looked racy all night and despite the even car speed shown by much of the A-main field Madsen still managed to forge his way forward to record a strong finish.

Danny Smith displayed some vintage form to be third for much of the first half of the race before being involved in several brilliant dices before eventually finishing sixth in the USA #4.

Past runner up in the President’s Cup Daryn Pittman returned to finish seventh in his own Heffner Racing car that he had shipped out to Australia for this weeks racing.

Jason Johnson was the fourth American driver in the top 8 yet it was little consolation as the Louisiana speedster was in fifth going into the final lap before taking evasive action for a spinning McFadden slipped Johnson to eighth.

Ninth home was John Vogels who will have enjoyed the chance to run wheel to wheel with several of the world’s great Sprintcar drivers.

Rounding out the top 10 was the popular Victorian and current Eureka Sprintcar Series point leader Jamie Veal.

Other finishers included US teammates Lucas Wolfe and Paul McMahan in 11th and 12th while Darren Mollenoyux, Brett Milburn, Danny Pestka and Shaun Dobson were the remaining runners.

Non finishers were Brooke Tatnell and Trevor Green who started 10th and 15th respectively.

Excellent weather ensured the large crowd would enjoy watching some of the world’s best drivers with a dozen American’s tackling the finest Australian racers as 51 cars completed time trials earlier in the evening with Ryan Farrell lapping the 390m venue the quickest of everyone with a 11.978sec lap.

Livewire Californian Kyle Larson started the night in spectacular fashion when he set the 7th quickest lap on his first qualifying effort before touching the wall and inverting the Brett Milburn owned entry on his second lap. Larson dealt with minor issues in his heat races that ensured he missed a start in the B-main.

Following the incredibly competitive heat races that featured the top 30 qualifiers after time trials, heat wins went to James McFadden, Peter Murphy, Jason Meyers, Daryn Pittman, Craig Dollansky and John Vogels.

Trevor Green won a stacked B-main ahead of Darren Mollenoyux, Lucas Wolfe and Jamie Veal while Mollenoyux charge from 13th was scintillating to say the least. Early leader Ryan Farrell failed to finish as Shane Stewart who slipped out of a transfer spot mid race.

Craig Dollansky missed the transfer in the B-main after starting 10th and moving to the infield mid race while defending event winner Stephen Bell also missed the A-main after both drivers suffered unlucky incidents in both their heats.

Local Australian Street Stock champion Brad McLure was unstoppable all night when he won the Street Stock final as he was also celebrating his 20th season in the category.


For more info contact Jeff Drew 0418 160 985 / Gavin White email