Action returns to Geelong’s Avalon Raceway this Saturday night when the Speedcars take centre stage with the annual Beasley Memorial set to be decided. In what is the second last event of the current season, Saturday night also has Super Rods programmed hot off their state title held last weekend where local ace Geoff Leigh scored a triumphant victory. The Great Aussie Dunny Derby will cap off another entertaining event!

Fans are still talking about the most recent event at Avalon Raceway when Sprintcar stars Robbie Farr and Stephen Bell crossed the finish line side by side recording a dead heat. Electronic timing couldn’t separate the pair and they were both awarded joint ownership of the 2012 Victorian Sprintcar Championship.

While the event also carried points toward the Essendon Ford Sprintcar Track Championship, point leader James McFadden continued his good form in the race for a brand new Ford Fiesta with a third place finish behind Farr and Bell. With only one Sprintcar event remaining for the season on Good Friday, McFadden now holds a 125 point advantage over defending track champion and last season’s car winner Stephen Bell.

“It’s really McFadden’s to lose at this point in the season,” said Avalon’s Jeff Drew.

“Good Friday’s event traditionally attracts a large field of cars and anything can happen but McFadden has been so good here this year, Bell almost needs him to not make the A-main and then he has to finish in the top 5 to have a shot at back to back cars.”

Jeff also went on to say that without the support of Essendon Ford and in particular David Dickson then the prize of a brand new car would not be possible.

“David is a speedway fan and loves his Sprintcar racing. This is the third year that we are giving a brand new car to the Sprintcar track champion at Avalon and we believe its prizes like this along with companies such as Eureka Garages and Sheds that support the SRA Series that have raised the car counts here in Victoria.”

Saturday night public gates will open at 4pm while racing will get underway from 6pm.


1. James McFadden 615
2. Stephen Bell 490
3. Robbie Farr 430
4. John Vogels 400
5. Darren Mollenoyux 355
6. Brett Milburn 350
7. Jamie Veal 310
8. Tim Rankin 305
9. Jason Meyers 290
10. Steven Lines 230

Adults $20
Concession $15
Child 12-16 $10
Child 5-11 $5
Under 5 FREE


For more info contact Jeff Drew 0418 160 985 / Gavin White email