With just one event remaining for the current speedway season, Geelong’s Avalon Raceway is already looking forward to next season with anticipation as the qualifiers continue to grow for the annual season opening Sprintcar Jackpot Invitational. Next Friday’s Easter Sprintcar Trail round is the last chance for drivers to win a heat race or feature in an attempt to qualify directly for October’s unique $10,000 to win Sprintcar Jackpot Invitational.

Avalon Raceway management devised a unique race to reward the loyal Sprintcar racers that support the venue throughout the summer and the only prerequisite is that the driver must win a heat or feature race throughout the previous season to qualify. Other drivers known as ‘Wildcards’ can be voted into the 32 car field should numbers need to be boosted.

“We are already thrilled with the quality of the drivers that have made the list of qualifiers for next October’s event,” said Avalon’s Jeff Drew.

“It goes without saying that several drivers that have qualified such as American’s Jason Meyer’s, Daryn Pittman and Craig Dollansky would be non-starters considering the logistics of getting them back for one event.”

“On the other hand we are excited that Victorian stars such as Stephen Bell, John Vogels, Darren Mollenoyux, Brett Milburn and Jamie Veal have qualified while interstate stars such as James McFadden, Robbie Farr and Trevor Green have also qualified,” said Drew.

The inaugural Sprintcar Jackpot Invitational winner was Max Dumesny who was ironically voted into the field as a ‘Wildcard’. With 36 drivers already qualified and the possibility of others on Good Friday, the ever popular Dumesny may have to rely on a ‘Wildcard’ vote once again to contest the Jackpot.

The event also boasts a unique format that requires the drivers to contest a pair of 16 car, 25 lap features that begin the night. Drivers are then required to continually finish at the front of a series of knockout events before the $10,000 to win, 12 lap feature for the top 10 drivers.

The event is one of three $10,000 to win events throughout the season and unlike the other two open events, the Jackpot Invitational is based purely on an invitational system either by qualifying directly in or by the ‘Wildcard’ system. 

Held the week after the Bathurst 1000, the Sprintcar Jackpot Invitational has unfortunately been hampered by wet weather in the past two seasons yet despite the obvious setbacks, the Avalon Raceway management is committed to providing great paying events for both competitors and fans alike.

1. S20 Glen Sutherland
2. V70 John Vogels
3. V45 Steven Lines
4. V77 Darren Mollenoyux
5. V68 Brett Milburn
6. V20 Domain Ramsay
7. V95 Ryan Davis
8. V35 Jamie Veal
9. N36 Eddie Lumbar
10. V37 Grant Anderson
11. V9 Rod Mathews
12. V14 Carl Ludeman
13. V73 Charles Hunter
14. V2 Ryan Farrell
15. V26 Nick Lacey
16. T77 Shaun Dobson
17. N75 Glen Saville
18. S24 Ricky Maiolo
19. Q83 David Murcott
20. N21 Garry Brazier
21. NQ25 James McFadden 
22. V6 Mike Van Bremen
23. W87 Carl Dowling
24. V55 Peter Murphy
25. USA14 Jason Meyers
26. USA27 Daryn Pittman
27. USA7 Craig Dollansky
28. S4 Trevor Green
29. Q7 Robbie Farr 
30. V48 Adam King
31. V88 Stephen Bell
32. V44 Ron Dalton
33. N18 Ian Loudoun
34. V40 Darren Hickman
35. V74 Michael Cunningham
36. V17 Dennis Jones

Website; www.avalonraceway.com

For more info contact Jeff Drew 0418 160 985 / Gavin White email gwxp@speedway.net.au

January’s President’s Cup winner Robbie Farr has qualified directly into the Sprintcar Jackpot Invitational Field. www.inactionphotos.com.au