The lights will come on for the last time this season at Geelong’s Avalon Raceway on Good Friday night when the annual Easter Sprintcar Trail rounds out another great season at the venue despite a number of unfortunate rainouts. With a world class Sprintcar field nominated the event promises to be another cracking race and with a monster fireworks show plus a Demolition Derby set to round out proceedings it’s one night not to be missed!

USA star Shane Stewart heads the 48 strong Sprintcar entry list and with his recent success the diminutive speedster will once again be amongst the drivers to beat this Friday night. Camden Neon Signs presents Friday’s action with the Easter Sprintcar Trail entering its 33rd year with the drivers then travelling to Mount Gambier on Saturday night and Warrnambool on Sunday.

“This event is a fantastic way to end our season with 48 Sprintcars entered plus support from the Super Rods, the ever popular demolition derby and fireworks, there is something for everyone,” confirmed Avalon commentator Brian Alexander.

“With Shane Stewart driving the Monster Energy Sprintcar plus a host of his great rivals including perennial Easter Trail favourite Max Dumesny, Steven Lines, James McFadden, David Murcott, Garry Brazier and defending Easter Trail champion Shaun Dobson, the field is as good as you could ask for.”

While most drivers will be battling for the $5,000 first prize that’s on offer, James McFadden has his eyes firmly on another prize as he currently leads the Essendon Ford Sprintcar track championship. Should McFadden make the A-main on Friday night and record a solid finish, he will win the season long track championship and drive away in a brand new Ford Fiesta valued at $18,000 for his efforts.

In what has been a landmark season for McFadden, the talented 22 year old recorded six round wins on his way to winning the World Series Sprintcars championship while he also won four of the five Speedweek rounds including Avalon’s December event.

Alexander also confirmed the addition of Dumesny who has won no less than nine Easter Sprintcar Trail rounds at Avalon is a massive boost for the local Sprintcar fans. In total, Dumesny has won a staggering 31 rounds of the Easter Sprintcar Trail in his career that has spanned three decades.

“Max is a living legend of Australian Sprintcar racing and to have him nominated along with his emerging son Mitchell is a great achievement and I am sure fans will make the most of this rare chance to see the father and son combination this Friday night.”

Other drivers of note including Stephen Bell, Jamie Veal, John Vogels, Brett Milburn and the recently crowned Eureka Sprintcar Series champion Darren Mollenoyux will also be flying the Victorian flag against the quality field.

The fireworks spectacular and the demolition derby will be conducted at the conclusion of the Sprintcar A-main.

“Friday night’s season ending event is always among the most popular for the season so we always encourage everyone to make their way to the venue early to get the best possible viewing spot,” said Alexander.

Racing is set to kick off from the earlier time of 6pm with public gates opening at 3pm.

Adults $30
Concession $20
Child 12-16 $10
Child 5-11 $5
Child Under 5 Free


Easter Sprintcar Trail Entries
Adam King … V48
Ashley Scott … NT83
Brent Aprile … NQ42
Brett Milburn … V68
Carl Ludeman … V14
Charles Hunter … V73
Daniel Pestka … S27
Darren Hickman … V40
Darren Mollenoyux … V77
Dave Murcott … S97
Dennis Jones … V17
Domain Ramsay … V20
Eddie Lumbar … N36
Garry Brazier … N21
Glen Sutherland … S20
Jack Lee … V25
Jackson Delamont … N48
James McFadden … NQ25
Jamie Veal … V35
Jeremy Cross … N39
John Baynes … V62
John Vogels … V70
Kris Lacey … V16
Kurt Luttrell … T45
Mark House … T14
Matt Young … N6M
Max Dumesny … V5
Michael Cunningham … V74
Mitch Foster … ACT4
Mitchell Dumesny … N77
Nick Lacey … V26
Peter Milnes … V51
Phillip Lock … V4
Quentin Tanner … V22
Ray Scott … V55
Rhiannon Burleigh … V58
Rod Matthews … V9
Ron Dalton … V44
Ryan Davis … V95
Shane Stewart … NQ7
Shaun Dobson … T77
Simon Van Ginneken … V82
Stephen Bell … V88
Steve Ellis … V12
Steven Lines … W3
Taylor Johnson … N62
Timothy Van Ginneken … V86
Trevor Green … S4

For more info contact Jeff Drew 0418 160 985 / Gavin White email