Up to a dozen American professionals are expected to lead the entry list for the $10.000 to win Essendon Ford President’s Cup sprintcar classic ar Avalon Raceway on Wednesday, 23 January.
Chili Bowl star Kevin Swindell, the defending champ at the indoor dirt oval at Tulsa, Oklahoma, leads the Australian tour party of 11, including World of Outlaws regulars Tim Kaeding, Kyle Hurst, Terry McCarl, Daryn Pittman, Wayne Johnson, Caleb Griffith, David Gravel, Danny Smith and Rico Abreau.
“Ten grand to win usually attracts the attention of most sprintcar regulars and is probably the reason why a dozen or so Americans should be in our field on 23 January,” said Garry Drew this week.
The holiday Wednesday race night is always a landmark event at the Avalon arena and it will need to be stunning to beat the recent World Series classic won by Jason Johnson over James McFadden.
“That was one for the ages, but this field is even better and we will be welcoming back Brooke Tatnell as well,” said Jeff Drew.
Kevin Swindell and his dad Sammy once again lead the qualifiers at
this weekend’s Chili Bowl speedcar hell raiser at Tulsa.
A staggering 245 midgets are entered with Australia represented by Sydney wingless sprintcar racer Alex Orr who has joined NASCAR ace Justin Algier
in the Mark Busch team with Aussie Bill Roberts turning the wrenches.
The speedcars roar back into action at Avalon Raceway on Saturday, 19 January for the Australian Super Series which combines with the annual G Town Rumble sponsored by Combined Waste.
The Sydney emphasis could not be stronger with Mark Brown, Nathan Smee and Troy Jenkins topping a huge interstate entry list.
If you’re a fan of pure dirt track speedway with the best in the business don’t miss the National super series and G Town Rumble here on Saturday night (19 January) and the long awaited Essendon Ford President’s Cup for 410 sprintcars on Wednesday (23 January) .