Following his recent strong performance during the Enzed World Series Sprintcars A-main at Avalon, David Murcott has rocketed to a commanding lead in the Essendon Ford Sprintcar track championship. With the next round being the President’s Cup on Wednesday, January 23, the field will be littered with USA stars plus a quality Australian contingent intent on winning the $10,000 first prize.
“So far Murcott’s plan is coming together as he committed to the track championship in preference to travelling across Australia,” said Avalon’s Jeff Drew.
Holding a handy points advantage over former winner Matthew Reed, Murcott has another four rounds of the track championship to complete before he can claim the impressive Ford Fiesta however the ex pat Tasmanian is in the box seat.
“Consistency finishing inside the top 5 is the key,” explained Drew.
“Top 10 finishes may not be good enough so a top 5 result captures the most points and Murcott has been doing that so far this year.”
Murcott last weekend narrowly missed capturing the Australian Sprintcar title, finishing runner up to eventual winner James McFadden.
The inclusion of Brooke Tatnell, Grant Anderson and Robbie Farr at the President’s Cup will add to the importance to secure valuable points for Murcott.
Already 12 American’s are among the entries including newly signed Kasey Kahne Racing’s Daryn Pittman, Californian duo Kyle Hirst and Tim Kaeding while NASCAR bound Kevin Swindell will also make his presence felt.
Avalon Raceway returns to action this Saturday night with the Speedcar Super Series taking centre stage before next Wednesday night’s President’s Cup.
David Murcott 620
Matthew Reed 470
Steven Lines 405
Mike Van Bremen 325
Stephen Bell 300
Brett Milburn 285
Grant Anderson 230
Darren Mollenoyux 220
Brad Warren 200
Darren Hickman 175
Jason Johnson 175
James McFadden 160
For more info contact Jeff Drew 0418 160 985 / Gavin White email