Dan Dubois produced a stunning drive to race from 18th starting spot on the grid to win the Parr Motorsport Wingless Sprint final at Avalon Raceway last night. Dubois used a number of cautions to his advantage as he marched around the highline and onto a popular win ahead of Brett Milburn and David McKay who was later demoted for not going to tech at the conclusion of the event.
Sydney’s Troy Jenkins rounded out a solid night backing up his pair of heat race wins with a great win in the POWRi Speedcar Super Series round ahead of Nathan Smee and Brock Hallett. Local hero Travis Mills at one stage slid under Jenkins for the lead only for a caution period to negate the move. Mills then tagged the rear of the leader at the restart spinning to a standstill sending him to the rear.
There were plenty of thrills and some large spills before a good crowd who enjoyed the close and entertaining racing produced by the Wingless Sprints and the Speedcars.
Avalon Raceway now looks forward to Wednesday night when over 50 Sprintcars will contest the $10,000 to win President’s Cup.
Ht1. Adrian Densley, Travis Millar, Mark Laity
Ht2. Brett Milburn, Steve Hodder, Glenn Jones
Ht3. David McKay, Jeff Judd, Luke McCutcheon
Ht4. Luke Walker, Troy Small, Mark Balcombe
Ht5. Luke Cole, Scott Drew, Daniel Storer
Ht6. Sam Wren, Daniel Beard, Dayn Bentvelzen
Ht7. Robbie Paton, Andrew Chivell, Jye Saunders
Ht8. Jason Langdon, Jeff Judd, Mark Balcombe
Ht9. Kane Newcombe, Corey Ludeman, David McKay
Ht10. James Wren, Jake Smith, Dan Dubois
CMAIN. Robbie Paton, Scott Drew
BMAIN. Dayn Bentvelzen, Dan Dubois, Kane Newcombe
AMAIN. Dan Dubois, Brett Milburn, Sam Wren
Ht1. Troy Jenkins, Adam Wallis, Domain Ramsay
Ht2. Nathan Smee, Mark Brown, Keith Astrella
Ht3. Troy Jenkins, Adam Wallis, Mark Brown
Ht4. Troy Jordan, Domain Ramsay, Matt Hinton
AMAIN. Troy Jenkins, Nathan Smee, Brock Hallett
Next Event; Wednesday January 23 – Essendon Ford Sprintcar President’s Cup
Website; www.avalonraceway.com
For more info contact Jeff Drew 0418 160 985 / Gavin White email gwxp@speedway.net.au