Darren Mollenoyux (410) and Matthew Reed (360) are the 2013 Victorian Sprintcar champions following last night’s joint state title event held at Geelong’s Avalon Raceway. Both drivers defeated their rivals and the elements as they were victorious on a grueling night for everyone concerned with tire wear playing on everyone’s mind.
Mollenoyux had to play the waiting game in the 30 lap final after he lost the initial start to second year racer Tim Van Ginneken who gained the upper hand on the rubber down track. TVG duly sped away and was getting through traffic nicely before a number of cautions including one when defending state champion Stephen Bell looped the #88 while challenging for second on Mollenoyux.
With the field tightened up Mollenoyux hung with Van Ginneken at each of the restarts and made his move in turn 3 and snuck under the early pacesetter and never looked back. Concerned with tire wear, Mollenoyux slowed the pace in the closing stages allowing Van Ginneken back onto the tail of the leader while Mike Van Bremen had also closed in third.
With laps running out, Mollenoyux claimed his career best result and was crowned the Victorian Sprintcar champion with Van Ginneken an understandably excited runner up. MVB crossed the line third ahead of Jack Lee, John Vogels, Dennis Jones, Brett Milburn, Glen Sutherland, Matthew Reed and Quentin Tanner in tenth. Rounding out the finishers were Daryl Campbell, Bell, Domain Ramsay, Jamie Hennessy, Carl Ludeman and David McKay. Jamie Veal and Adam King were DNF’s.
Shaun Dobson earlier set quick time in qualifying but found himself in the C-main after not finishing his first heat of the night. Heat race wins went to Mike Van Bremen, Tim Van Ginneken and Bell while Van Ginneken won the A Dash to start from pole in the final. Dobson won the shortened C-main while Jamie Veal advanced from the B-main.
In the 360 portion of the evening Matthew Reed produced a faultless performance to lead every lap of the final to claim the state championship. Reed’s experience came to the fore as he controlled the pace of the final despite the pressure from behind with Shane Heathcote producing an excellent drive to finish on the tail of the winner. Brenten Farrer raced into third in the final ahead of Phil Lock, Liam Williams, Bill Fraser, Paul Solomon, Jack Lee, Peter Logue and Keke Falland in tenth. Michael Cunningham and Chris Solomon rounded out the finishers while Darren Hickman, Sam Putland, Jamie Veal, Brad Foster, Tim Van Ginneken and Domain Ramsay were all DNF’s.
Farrer won the first heat to set up his excellent night while Reed cruised to the win in heat 2. Reed won the A Dash to start on pole while Falland won the B-main to advance to the championship final.
Jamie Veal earlier set quick time in the 360 time trials that would also have got him the fastest time in the open session also as the track began to wear due to the oppressive heat throughout the evening.
Next Event; Saturday March 2. Victorian Wingless Sprint and Speedcar Titles.
Website; www.avalonraceway.com
For more info contact Jeff Drew 0418 160 985 / Gavin White email gwxp@speedway.net.au