Another successful season has drawn to a close at Geelong’s Avalon Raceway with a host of prizes still to be awarded at the venues annual awards event in the coming weeks as the various track champions will be recognized. Arguably the happiest among the recipients will be popular Victorian Sprintcar star David Murcott who will drive away in a brand new Ford Fiesta for his efforts in winning the Essendon Ford Sprintcar track championship.
A pair of feature wins catapulted Murcott to the track championship despite missing the final round at Easter while a runner up finish along with a fourth and fifth was more than good enough to be awarded the track championship.
Valued at over $18,000 the Ford Fiesta will be a nice addition to the garage for the hard charging Murcott while this year’s car marks the fourth consecutive year a car has been awarded to the Sprintcar track champion at Avalon.
Murcott edged out former track champion Matthew Reed who doesn’t go away empty handed as he scored an A.R.T Sprintcar chassis courtesy of PRP Engineering while third place Darren Mollenoyux receives a new top wing thanks to Victory Lane Racegear. Jamie Veal finished fourth in the track championship and won a year’s subscription to Oval Express Magazine.
Avalon’s Jeff Drew is obviously ecstatic about the support the track championship receives and thrilled to get through a season without a washout for the first time in recent memory.
“Without the support of Essendon Ford, PRP Engineering, Victory Lane Racegear and Oval Express Magazine none of this would be possible.”
“Avalon regularly attracted over 50 Sprintcars for many of the events this season and it’s with prizes such as these that teams come to race for.”
Jeff also went on to confirm there were a number of other supporters that contributed to season long track championships for other division that were regularly seen at the venue.
“So many of the businesses have been with us for a long time and for that we thank them and congratulate the other track champions.”
State champion Daryl Nelson won the Lupton Builders backed Super Rod point score as Daryl Logue did likewise in the Max Fry Smash Repairs Modified Production Sedans track championship.
Salt Electrical presented the Wingless Sprint award and Dan Dubois was a clear cut winner while Allansford’s Jack Bell won a hotly contested Junior Sedan aggregate presented by Dirt Addict.
The Street Stock track championship top two were separated by 5 points with Rick Swasbrick collecting the Garden City Wreckers award while Superb Security backed the Speedcars track championship that saw Andy Pearce wrap up the title.
The last track championship to be decided was the Rocket Signs supported V8 Dirt Modified and it was won by the ever consistent Dave May.
Avalon has already confirmed many of their race dates for next season with the highly anticipated Sprintcar Jackpot Invitational set to be held on October 26th.
David Murcott 795
Matthew Reed 725
Darren Mollenoyux 585
Jamie Veal 560
Mike Van Bremen 530
Grant Anderson 525
Brett Milburn 505
Steven Lines 405
Stephen Bell 380
James McFadden 320
For more info contact Jeff Drew 0418 160 985 / Gavin White email