by Geoff Rounds
A dozen Americans will be aiming to become a president at Avalon Raceway this Wednesday night as they all chase victory in the 33rd Essendon Ford Presidents’ Cup.
The strong American contingent will have 12 of their best taking on the 50 Australians all battling for the tidy $10,000 first prize. Warrnambool’s Jamie Veal will be part of the top Australians in action and keen to defend his President’s Cup of 2013.
Uncle Sam’s boys will be itching to get their name again engraved on the prestigious trophy, something they’ve not been able to do since 2006, when Paul McMahan was successful and returns this year.
Two Americans who highlight the action will include reigning World of Outlaws champion Daryn Pittman, while another former Outlaws champ in Jason Meyers will also be there while the remaining list of the USA brigade won’t disappoint.
Other US drivers include Kyle Hirst who has been winning at will since arriving Down Under juts prior to Christmas as has Geoff Ensign. Shane Stewart, Tim Kaeding, Dale Blaney, Terry McCarl, David Gravel, Bud Kaeding, Randy Hannagan and veteran Danny Smith make up a cracking USA brigade.
Son of American sprintcar legend Sammy Swindell, Kevin will make the last-minute dash to Geelong to drive the second Essendon Ford sprintcar, as the 24 year-old will again team-up with Geelong’s own Domain Ramsay after an intriguing visit last year to Australia. Swindell and Ramsay are both fresh from competing at the at the world-famous annual Chili Bowl event in Oklahoma in the world’s only indoor speedcar event.
Perth’s Robbie Farr knows how to win the President’s Cup race and is a two time winner of the event while Brooke Tatnell also returns as a three time winner.
All eyes will again be on Mount Gambier’s Steven Lines who has dominated sprintcar racing this season at Avalon. His presence on Wednesday will be a telling factor and he will again pose a serious threat to the Americans as will reigning Australian champion James McFadden who is due for top position on the victory dais.
Other Aussies to watch include Mark House, Shaun Dobson, Jeremy Cross, Ian Loudoun, Brett Milburn, David Murcott, Grant Anderson, Peter Lack and Sydney’s exciting youngster Max Johnston.
The Sprintcars will contest time trials with the top 30 qualifiers going directly into the heat races while the remaining cars will contest a non-qualifiers event in an attempt to be among the first six cars to finish, tagging onto the back of the heat races. Six heat races plus a B-main and then the 30-lap A-main. Nearly 20 street stocks will be the support on a very busy night of racing.
Public gates open at 3:30 pm, A Free Pit Walk from 3.30pm, Hot Laps at 5.30pm, Racing From 6:30pm
Admission prices are:
Adults – $30
Under 12 – Free (if accompanied by an adult)
Children 12 – 16 yrs – $15
Concession – $25 (aged and Disability only)
Full canteen facilities and free parking.
For more info contact Jeff Drew 0418 160 985 / Geoff Rounds 0413 024413.