By Geoff Rounds
HUGE numbers of cars have entered for one of the biggest night’s of racing ever at Avalon Raceway this Saturday night presented by Hot Country FM.
In excess of 120 cars across five divisions of speedway classes have entered with Wingless sprints, AMCAs, Street Stocks, Modified Productions and Super Sedans all on the card with the earlier start of 5pm to accommodate all racing.
Fifty three wingless sprints will compete for honours in the Avanats sponsored by Salt Electrical. The Grand Final of the Victorian Modified Production Association Multiskill Series will be decided in another epic Holden versus Ford battle, while the prestigious Barry Reidy Memorial for AMCAs has again attracted solid entries.
A handy field of 16 Super Sedans will add to the programme of action which according to Avalon promotor Jeff Drew looks to have something for all fans of pure speedway excitement.
“This is an amazing lineup of classes for the weekend. We are absolutely rapt that so many cars and teams have entered and it should give everyone who loves close speedway racing something to look forward too,” Drew said.
All classes will be keenly contested with minimal points separating all divisions of the Avalon track championships and no division yet has a clear cut winner as listed below;
Super Sedans sponsored by I&J Speedway Equipment
1. L. Robert175
2. M. Nicola Jnr 160
3. L. West150
4. S. Whittle145
5. P. Blenkeron140
Street Stocks sponsored by Garden City Auto Wreakers
1. R. Swasbrick 330
2. S. Henry 315
3. D. Atkinson 310
4. D. Pasley 240
5. C. Suiter 240
Wingless – sponsored by Salt Electrical
1. J. Wren 335
2. S. Wren 325
3. A. Hibbert 225
4. J. Langdon 205
5. R. Baxter 160
Modified Productions – sponsored by Max Fry Smash Repairs
1. B. Mills 540
2. R. Bent 525
3. R. Madden 330
4. R. Felsouvary 310
5. M. Sheen 215.
Public gates will open at 3.30pm and **Please Note** – the earlier on track racing action will be from 5pm.
Adults $25
Child under 12 Free
Child 12-16 $10
Free parking and full canteen facilities are available.
This will be Avalon Raceway’s final meeting for many of the above classes before the huge traditional opening night of the annual Easter Sprintcar Trail on Good Friday, April 18. It will see one of just two lucky drivers drive away in a new Ford Fiesta from Essendon Ford as the winner of the 2013-14 track championship. Tasmanian and newly crowned Eureka Garages and Sheds champion Shaun Dobson leads on 860 points from Brett Milburn on 840 and the pair will again race to the end to decide who gets the keys to the new Ford.
For more information: Jeff Drew 0418 160985 / Geoff Rounds 0413 024413.