This traditional event for Super Sedans attracted 18 top-line cars and is one of the best races on the Victorian speedway sedans calendar and this year was no exception. All the big names where again in contention for line honours including Mick Nicola JNR, David Gartner, Wayne Brims and Lucas Roberts. Who would prevail to wear the highly sort after winners jacket and take away the K-Rock Cup for 2016.

The heats gave the strong crowd an insight of what to expect in the final. David Gartner took heat one from Wayne Brims with South Australian Ryan Alexander in for third. Heat 2 saw Michael Miller take the win followed by Lucas Roberts and Neil Witnish. Heat 3 and Ryan Alexander looks strong, Wayne Brims is Mr Consistent with another 2nd and Brad Wicks in for 3rd. Heat 4 David McKenzie makes the car as wide as possible and secures the win with Michael Miller and Lucas Roberts round out the positions. Unfortunately during the heats we lose Mick Nicola Jnr with major damage to the rear end, Sean Lister after contact with the wall while trying to avoid another car and Ash Bergmeier with a suspected broken thumb. The Top 6 Dash delivers the first 3 rows of the feature in this order Roberts, Alexander, Brims, Gartner, Miller and McKenzie.

The K-ROCK Cup 2016 grid rolls out and our grand marshal for the night, past champion Debbie Reddecliffe, delivers the famous words ‘Gentlemen start your engines’. The noise from the super sedans is only matched by the cheering of the crowd. The race begins and Roberts grabs the lead, the track offers a topside and this becomes important later in the race. With Alexander chasing Roberts the race is hot with Gartner, Brims and Miller involved in a three-way battle and Wicks trading blows with Witnish. The caution lights come on and the crowd brace for the restart. This is Alexander’s opportunity and he grabs it with both hands, going around the outside of Roberts. From there the South Australian drives away with some very impressive car speed and skills as back markers come into play. The checkers fall and Ryan Alexander is the K-ROCK Cup champion for 2016, Lucas Roberts is in for second and Wayne Brims completes the podium.

The night also delivers the Super Rod Stampede won by Shaun Walsh with Leigh Podger and Howard Stanfield in 2nd and 3rd.


The first Demo Derby for 2016 brings all the crash and bash the kids have been waiting for and no one goes home disappointed.


January 9th Vic Sprintcar Title, January 16th G-Town Rumble for Speedcars and January 20th  Presidents Cup.  Keep up to date on  our face book page