APRIL 2 2021
Race fans packed the stands out at Avalon Raceway to kick-start the annual Sprintcar Easter Trail with night one. After the 2020 running cancelled due to Covid19, drivers and fans alike were eager to see the things with wings back in line with the Easter Bunny.
Darren Mollenoyux would continue that fast Avalon feeling, locking down pole position in time trial session number one.
Domain Ramsay would welcome speed back to the V2 team, taking pole position in flight number two.
The Flying V, John Vogels, was on a mission, rounding the V70 at the top of the timing tables in flight number three.
Brett the Jet Milburn rockets the V68 to take the final pole position in time trials flight number four.
The Charismatic youngster out of NSW, Marcus Dumesney would record an important win in the books of heat race one, from Darren Mollenoyux.
Domain Ramsay would convert his early time trial performance to a win in heat race two, from Tassie’s Jock Goodyer.
The Australian Champion Jamie Veal would win heat race three with the new look A1, winning from Grant Anderson.
Brett Milburn continued his flawless run thus far, winning heat race four from South Australian Brock Hallett.
Tate Frost would win heat race number five with the reverse grid format, while Stephen Spark would cross the line in second.
Jock Goodyer would go on to win heat race number six, from a fast finishing Andrew Hughes.
Ross Jared would take the triumphant win from the V92 of Mr Speed Matthew Reed in heat race number seven.
Jordyn Charge was rock solid in the final heat race of the night winning from Grant Anderson in second place.
Dane Court made his mark on heat race number one for the Max Dumesney Super Rods taking the opening win from Howard Stansfield and Paul Verhoeven.
Neville Gange would take the iconic L56 to the top in heat one, with Michael Coad in second and Jacob Pitcher in third.
Allan Pitcher was stoich in Super Rods heat three with Howard Stansfield holding down a solid second.
Michael Coad was simply too good in the final heat race of Super Rods taking the win from Stanley Marco Jnr.
The Max Dumesney Motorsport Super Rods main event was dominated by Neville Gange winning the feature by 1.5 seconds. Dane Court and Howard Stansfield would make up the remaining two spots on the podium. While Jamie May and Michael Coad made up the final two for the top five.
The C Main for the 410 Sprintcars Easter trail offered just four places into the last chance B main. It would be Travis Millar winning, with Stephen Spark, Troy Hose and Marcus Green.
Jacob Smith was epic in the B Main, to take the win from a locked down Tate Frost while David Donegan and Bobby Daly made up the highly contested final four transfers to the A Main.
Darren Mollenoyux would start on the pole position for the Easter Trail Main event. This highlight would be short lived after suffering an early casualty and retiring just 2 laps in. Grant Anderson would also start in the top four but succumb to the infield 14 laps in.
Jock Goodyer put on a thrill show for the crowd while dominating the main event and lapping .6 of a second quicker than the field. Goodyer would rocket away to win by almost a second over the new look Australia #1 of Jamie Veal.
Marcus Dumesney would continue his rampant Avalon Raceway run taking yet another third place on the podium. Brock Hallett and Tate Frost would dice it out for the top five with Hallett in fourth and Frost in fifth.
Brett Milburn, Jacob Smith, Matthew Reed, Jesse Attard and Johnny Vogels make up the top 10 for night one of the Sprintcars Easter Trail.
The 410ci Sprintcars now hit the road for Borderline Speedway Mt Gambier for night two Saturday and the final night at Premier Speedway Warrnambool on Sunday.
📸 Grumpy & Sons Photography and Donnaz Photos.