DECEMBER 26 2021
Modified Sedan Driver Chris Rieck was victorious in the Modified Sedan Christmas Cup, while a spectacular Sprintcar pileup would prematurely bring an end to the 410 Sprintcar main event.
Corey Mccullagh would kick-start proceedings for the 410 Sprintcar Gold Cup with a blistering lap that would QuickTime at 12.074. The nearest competitor would be Cameron Waters with a 12.452 and Rusty Hickman at 12.483.
Mccullagh continued his dominant form winning heat one convincingly over Brock Hallett and Cameron Waters.
The David Dickson V3 of Darren Mollenoyux would win heat race number two sneaking around on the bottom, but not without Adam King winding up on the top having a shot.
Grant “The Gun” Anderson shot away in heat race number three to win by almost a second from Rhys Baxter.
Heat race number four would go south in the way of Tasmanian Tate Frost aboard the T62 taking the win from Dennis Jones.
Daniel Pestka would dish out a heat win for the ages, running rampant to win by almost 8 seconds in heat race number five over Brett Milburn.
Grant Anderson would make it back to back heat wins after holding out QuickTime Mccullagh in heat six.
Bobby Daly made his return to heat race victory holding off Mildura’s Terry Kelly in the S37.
Todd Moule was epic in heat race number eight, he would take the D26 to the top taking with him Chris Campbell in second.
Tim Hutchins would hammer home the T7 after being stranded in Tasmania over the last 12 months, and only inheriting the new car 10 days ago, making heat race nine a hard earned victory.
Tim Van Ginneken would take the V44 to the top step of the final heat race snaring the win from Rhys Baxter.
Modified Sedan action was a welcomed return to the Lara banks with both competitors and spectators on the edge of their seats.
It was Brody Chrystie driving his Alexandra based #32 who would go on to win heat one with a fast flying Darcy Wilson finishing second in his #B5.
Todd Atkins snuck by to win heat race number two by half a second over Jarod Waters in his Mercedes out of Mildura.
The second round of heats was piloted by Brad Wicks who would go on to win with Lachlan Fitzpatrick following closely.
Avalon’s Chris Rieck would take an emphatic victory in the final heat race after his father was inducted into the Avalon Raceway Hall of Fame to continue an emotional day.
Rieck would write his fairytale ending after four restarts in the A Main he would steer the AV18 right to the top step of the podium to take the Avalon Raceway Christmas Cup home with him. Matt Gerlach would follow suit in second making it an all Avalon top two. Todd Atkins will fill the final podium spot in his HA36. Andrew Dike and Marcus Raddecliffe would make up the top five.
Just two short laps into the A Main for the 410 Sprintcars, it was a major tangle involving Tim Hutchins and Jack Lee. The time that would have been required to make repairs to track facilities and restart the field for the remainder of the race would have compromised Avalon Raceway’s strict time curfew. This would render the Sprintcar Main Event a non result. Whilst all involved would walk away unharmed.
Avalon Raceway will now turn its sights to Thursday December 30 for the Sprintcar Fireball Derby presented by Routley’s.
📸 Full Throttle Publishing, Robert Lake Photography and Avalon Raceway