DECEMBER 26 2022


Corey Mccullagh and the V90 team rein supreme at Avalon Raceway for the Boxing Day Sprintcar Gold Cup.

The Sprint Pig David Donegan kicked his night into high gear after a senational overall quicktime award in the opening flight. Mccullagh would go a close second overall after goihg quicktime in his flight. Matthew Reed, Tim Hutchins and Grant Anderson would set quickest times in their respective groups.

Heat Race wins would go the way of Jordyn Charge in heat one, Chris Solomon in heat two, Jacob Smith in heat three, Brett Milburn in heat four and Grant Anderson took out the fifth and final heat of the Eureka Garages and Sheds SRA Series round four.

The Shootouts would see four cars on track at a time to determine the bronze, silver and gold dash winners and set the field for the main event.

Bobby Daly and Chris Solomon would transfer from Bronze through to the Silver. The two would incredibly then go on to transfer into the Gold shootout and battle for the top 4 starting places. Grant Anderson would lay down the fastest time and set himself up for a pole start in the main. Starting alongside a racey Solomon, Mccullagh and Daly.

The top four transfer spots from the last chance C Main would be occupied by Ashley Cook courtesy of winning the C, Stephen Spark, Grant Stansfield and Tim Van Ginneken would go through as well.

Michael Tancredi was supreme to win the B Main, the other 5 qualifiers out of the B would be Charge, Rae, Parr, Hutchins and Lumbar.

With action going on from top to bottom and multiple lanes on offer, the Sprintcar Main Event would be tanalisingly good. Michael Tancredi would make a solid charge from the B, up to 7th with plenty of laps to go. Unfortuantely hed get tangled with Doukas and bring on the cautions.

Grant Anderson and Corey Mccullagh stuck to the low groove and chipped away lap after lap. Milburn moved upstairs and quickly went to work putting himself in good position for a run home. With one to run Milburn would sail by Anderson to pick pocket second while a commanding Mccullagh was just too good taking out the top spot.

Matthew Reed was fourth with Daly and Hutchins fifth and sixth. Followed by Solomon, King, Rankin and Donegan.

The Bendigo #17 Falcon of Brad Wicks lit the place up in the Modified Sedan ranks. Wicks won both of his heats and looked all but unbeatable headed to the mains. Young gun Tristan Mcgraw claimed a heat win, as did Lachy Fitzpatrick in the Bendigo #11.

Kye Walters in his return to the sedan would have to climb out of deep water following engine woes early. Walters would storm through the field to manage a hard earned third with McGraw in second. Wicks once again, was unstoppable taking the victory in the Modified Sedan Christmas Cup.

Avalon Raceway now sets its sights on a Clay Per View Sprintcars Speedweek campaign over the next week and look forward to housing race fans again in a short and sharp turn around time this December 30th.