APRIL 18 2023

This Saturday Night will play host to the final race of the season which will be the Annual Diggers Cup for Pro Sprints presented by A Plus Powdercoating and the Dutton One Southern Speedcar Tour presented by C&H Trucking.

The time honoured Diggers Cup for Sprintcars has long been Avalon Raceway’s ode to our ANZAC’S who made the greatest sacrifice for our country so many years ago on those shores.

The Pro Sprints have turned out accordingly with almost 30 Entries stacked with strong contenders. The Diggers Cup is doubling as Round 7 of the C&H Trucking Pro Sprint Series and round 2 of the A Plus Powdercoating Triple Crown.

Mildura’s Corey Sandow is hot off a feature event win at his home track who will make the trip to Avalon aiming to back up the welcomed result for the team.

Jordy Rae has been a clear stand-out this season across particularly the Sprintcar ranks as he gets behind the wheel of the V9 Pro Sprint once more. Jordyn Charge and the Incharge Racing Team are bolting their Pro Sprint powerplant back in for the weekend in their long time support of the raceway.

As you could expect, Raceway regulars like Brett Milburn, Dennis Jones, Steven Loader, Sam Wren, Michael Tancredi, Chris Solomon, Marcus Green, Eddie Lumbar and more will all return.

The Speedcars are showing up in force this Saturday Night with one of their strongest representations of the season.

19 Cars will do battle with many new wheel men to grace the place for pace this season for the first time.

Better known as Luke and Matt’s dad these days, the ultra slick Craig Geering will hop behind the wheel himself of the N6 Speedcar.

Joining him you can always expect to be Dillon Ghent leading the charge of young guns who are always in the equipment and operation to stand tall at the end of the night.

Caleb Mills will lead out as the solo Mills team car while Squizzy will sit this one out. Matt Papa is in, as is Nick Parker, Joe Lostitch, Dan Timberlake, DJ Raw, Craig and Danny Smith who are all no strangers to getting around Avalon.

Zoe Pearce edges closer and closer to her Maiden feature win at Avalon in the Speedcar category and will be charging hard for certain.

This will be the final event on the Avalon Raceway Calendar so you certainly don’t want to miss this one.

As usual standard start times apply, with pit Gates open at 1pm. Public Gates open at 3:30 with pit walk until 4:30. Cars rolling on track at 5pm for hotlaps followed by the Diggers ceremony not to be missed at 6pm.

Tickets are available online at or from the ticket booth on Saturday.

Avalon Raceway, Lara. BE THERE


VA6 Luke Schneider
VA8 Steven Horton
V9 Jordan Rae
V10 Steven Loader
VA16 Jack Van Bremen
V17 Dennis Jones
VA18 Justin Drew
V19 Sam Wren
VA21 Alex Thompson
V22 Ben Micallef
V29 Michael Tancredi
S35 Darryl Bottams
N36 Eddie Lumbar
V39 Brett Smith
V43 Corey Sandow
VA43 Daniel Storer
N46 Stacey Galliford
VA49 Shaun Lyness
V53 Nigel Laity
V60 Jordyn Charge
V64 David Aldersley
V68 Brett Milburn
VA71 Andy Hibbert
V72 Jacob Smith
VA75 David Donegan
VA83 David McKay
V83 Chris Solomon
V71 Marcus Green
VA98 Shane Steenholdt
3V Dillon Ghent
6N Craig Geering
S6 Kaleb Currie
9v Luke Storer
10M Caleb Mills
12T Mitchell Freeman
14V Dan Timberlake
15N DJ Raw
22V Joseph Lostitch
25V Matt Papa
27T Luke Freeman
39V Nick Parker
42N Nathan Smee
55V Danny Smith
71V Zoe Pearce
71S Troy Ware
75V Jack Day
88V Craig Smith