Official Release: Avalon Raceway

Saturday, 6th January 2024

Tasmanian driver Callum Harper claimed victory in the highly anticipated 2024 K-Rock, marking a triumphant moment in Super Sedan Racing.

The event unfolded with a family-friendly finish time of 9:15 pm. A diverse field, representing five states from across the country, converged for this prestigious K-Rock Cup, a tradition steeped in Super Sedan Racing history dating back to its inception in 1978.

Behind the wheel of the Tufflift entry, Jamie Collins initially led the race until Harper executed a move on the outside groove of the multi-lane track.

This maneuver forced Collins to settle for a commendable 3rd place. Notably, Mick Nicola Jnr secured second place in a riveting battle with his senior counterpart, nearly reeling Harper back in as the leaders encountered heavy lap traffic in the final stages.

Harper’s performance at the Place For Pace, was setup by dominating the highline from heats to feature, cementing his victory. Despite navigating through dense lap traffic and facing a late challenge from Mick Nicola Jnr, Harper made history as a two-time K-Rock Cup champion, leaving fans in awe of what they just witnessed.

In the Super Rods division, Jason Kavanagh, the early leader, suffered an unforeseen setback with mechanical issues, resulting in a DNF.

This twist of fate allowed Jacob Pitcher to inherit the lead and secure victory in the Quest Geelong Central Challenge. Jamie secured second place, while Michael Coad rounded out the podium positions.

Meanwhile, in the Street Stock division, David Barrie’s dominance was apparent from the green flag, delivering a commanding performance that left rivals unable to close the gap.

Jenson Wilson secured second place with a well-earned heat race win, successfully fending off challenges from Steven Watts, who ultimately claimed the third position.

Supported by:

◼︎K rock Geelong

◼︎Quest Geelong Central

◼︎Victorian Super Sedan Association

📅Next event:

Friday, January 12th, 2024

Avalon Sprintcar International

Westcoast Classic